The Pulitzer Prize

Ukrainian journalists awarded special Pulitzer for their coverage of a terrible reality 


You see an error in the text - select the fragment and press Ctrl + Enter

The Pulitzer Prize Board has announced the winners of the 2022 Pulitzer Prizes, which includes a special prize for Ukrainian journalists for their coverage of the russian invasion of Ukraine. 

The Pulitzer Board awards a special citation to the journalists of Ukraine for their courage, endurance, and commitment to truthful reporting during Vladimir Putin’s ruthless invasion of their country and his propaganda war in Russia. Despite bombardment, abductions, occupation, and even deaths in their ranks, they have persisted in their effort to provide an accurate picture of a terrible reality, doing honor to Ukraine and to journalists around the world.


15 Pulitzer Prizes were awarded for books in the following categories: fiction, history, biography, poetry, and nonfiction. 


  • Fiction


Winner — «The Netanyahus», Joshua Cohen (New York Review Books)




«Monkey Boy», Francisco Goldman (Grove)

«Palmares», Gayl Jones (Beacon Press). 


  • History


Winners — 

«Covered With Night: A Story of Murder and Indigenous Justice in Early America», Nicole Eustace (Liveright)

«Cuba: An American History», Ada Ferrer (Scribner)




«Until Justice Be Done: America’s First Civil Rights Movement, From the Revolution to Reconstruction», Kate Masur (W.W. Norton & Company)


  • Biography


Winner — «Chasing Me to My Grave: An Artist’s Memoir of the Jim Crow South», Winfred Rembert, as told to Erin I. Kelly. (Bloomsbury)




«Pessoa: A Biography», Richard Zenith (Liveright)

«The Doctors Blackwell: How Two Pioneering Sisters Brought Medicine to Women — and Women to Medicine», Janice P. Nimura (W.W. Norton & Company)


  • Poetry


Winner — «frank: sonnets», Diane Seuss (Graywolf Press)




«Refractive Africa: Ballet of the Forgotten», by Will Alexander (New Directions)

«Yellow Rain», by Mai Der Vang (Graywolf Press)


  • General Nonfiction


Winner — «Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival and Hope in an American City», by Andrea Elliott (Random House)




«The Family Roe: An American Story», by Joshua Prager (W.W. Norton & Company)

«Home, Land, Security: Deradicalization and the Journey Back from Extremism», by Carla Power (One World)


Full list of winners 


The Pulitzer Prize is one of the most prestigious awards for literature, journalism, music, and theater in the US. It was founded by Joseph Pulitzer, one of the creators of yellow journalism. The prizes are administered by Columbia University in New York and awarded annually on the first Monday of May. 


The Pulitzer Prize Board has 19 members, who are leading journalists and media executives, and 6 members from academia and the arts. 

що більше читаєш – то ширші можливості