A memorial plaque in honor of Yuri Andrukhovych to be installed in Poland


You see an error in the text - select the fragment and press Ctrl + Enter

Ukrainian poet, novelist, and musician Yuriy Andrukhovych will be honored with a memorial plaque on the Writers’ Alley in the Oświęcim Book Gallery. This was reported by a representative of the gallery, Monika Sobota.


This year’s selection of the Alley’s jury is different from the previous ones: previously, there was a strict framework to choose only Polish authors.


“In 2023, we decided to honor the Ukrainian writer Yuri Andrukhovych with a plaque on the Writers’ Alley. The choice was dictated by substantive considerations: we are dealing with a wonderful poet, prose writer and musician who is fluent in Polish, known and recognized in Polish culture and literature. There were also political and historical considerations that are now taking place (…). It is of great importance that writers, artists and figures of Ukrainian culture are active and extremely dedicated to defending their homeland and Europe from Russian aggression,” said Professor Krzysztof Zajas, head of the Alley branch.


He emphasized that this award symbolically honors all figures of Ukrainian culture.


The bronze plaque will be unveiled on the sidewalk in front of the library in Auschwitz on September 22. Andrukhovych personally chose the quote to be placed on the plaque: “My memory allows me to do whatever I want. There are no limits to my hope.”


A representative of the Oświęcim Book Gallery noted that this will be the 21st plaque on the Writers’ Alley, which is related to similar initiatives in honor of actors, musicians, or athletes. The selection is made by a jury consisting of writers, literary critics, and scientists.


Currently, plaques in honor of the following authors have been installed on the sidewalks in front of the city’s public library called the Book Gallery: Wanda Chotomska, Magdalena Grzebałkowska, Urszula Kozioł, Hanna Krall, Ewa Lipska, Dorota Masłowska, Zofia Posmysz, Małgorzata Szejnert, Olga Tokarczuk, Marek Bieńczyk, Janusz Głowacki, Wojciech Jagielski, Ryszard Krynicki, Wiesław Myśliwski, Radek Rak, Andrzej Stasiuk, Szczepan Twardoch, Mariusz Szczygieł, Marcin Świetlicki, and Adam Zagajewski.


Read also: Zhadan received the Polish Prize in the field of Human Rights


Source: PAP